Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Behind the Scenes
  3. Wiki Discussion
  4. Qt5 development primer
Forum Update on Monday, May 27th 2025

Qt5 development primer

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Wiki Discussion
166 Posts 72 Posters 201.1k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • D Offline
    D Offline
    dasun
    wrote on 25 Mar 2013, 18:05 last edited by
    #117

    I'm trying to build source from the for new bug fix which critical for me.

    I'm getting following linking error:

    @ link /NOLOGO /DYNAMICBASE /NXCOMPAT /BASE:0x67000000 /DEBUG /DLL /VERSIO
    N:5.02 /MANIFEST /MANIFESTFILE:....\lib\Qt5Cored.lib.embed.manifest /OUT:....
    lib\Qt5Cored.lib @C:\Users\dasun\AppData\Local\Temp\nm9C85.tmp
    Creating library ....\lib\Qt5Cored.lib and object ....\lib\Qt5Cored.exp
    LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file '....\lib\Qt5Cored.lib'
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0
    \VC\BIN\link.EXE"' : return code '0x450'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0
    \VC\BIN\nmake.exe"' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.@

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
    • S Offline
      S Offline
      stephench77
      wrote on 25 Mar 2013, 18:08 last edited by
      #118

      I am building from Windows 7. I use the following configuration command:

      configure -developer-build -opensource -confirm-license -nomake examples -nomake tests -mp

      I see the following errors at the end of configuration output:

      Generating Visual Studio project files...
      Project WARNING: You should probably load(qt_build_config) first in bootstrap.pr
      o for QtBootstrap, as the latter also load()s qt_module.
      Project MESSAGE: Not doing so may lead to qt_module.prf overriding compiler/link
      er options in your .pro file.
      Project MESSAGE: Ignore this warning with CONFIG+=no_qt_module_warning if you kn
      ow what you are doing.
      Project ERROR: Project has no top-level .qmake.conf file.
      Qmake failed, return code 3

      Generating Makefiles...
      *** qtbase/configure exited with non-zero status.

      1 Reply Last reply
      0
      • A Offline
        A Offline
        anshulsolanki
        wrote on 5 Apr 2013, 16:06 last edited by
        #119

        I am getting following error
        "STL functionality check failed! Cannot build Qt with this STL library."

        when i run configure command i.e.
        ./configure -developer-build -xplatform android-g++ -android-ndk YOUR_NDK_DIR -android-sdk YOUR_SDK_DIR -nomake tests -nomake examples

        Exact dump

        • /home/ubuntu/qt5/qtbase/configure -developer-build -xplatform android-g++ -android-ndk /home/ubuntu/anshul/android-ndk-r8e -android-sdk /home/ubuntu/anshul/replicant-sdk_linux-x86 -nomake tests -nomake examples -confirm-license
          Which edition of Qt do you want to use ?

        Type 'c' if you want to use the Commercial Edition.
        Type 'o' if you want to use the Open Source Edition.

        o

        This is the Qt Open Source Edition.

        You are licensed to use this software under the terms of
        the Lesser GNU General Public License (LGPL) versions 2.1.

        You have already accepted the terms of the license.

        <srcbase> = /home/ubuntu/qt5/qtbase
        <outbase> = /home/ubuntu/qt5/qtbase
        Creating qmake...
        make: Nothing to be done for `first'.
        Running configuration tests...
        Warning: Disabling pkg-config since PKG_CONFIG_LIBDIR is not set.
        Warning: Disabling pkg-config since PKG_CONFIG_SYSROOT_DIR is not set.

        Could not determine the target architecture!
        Turn on verbose messaging (-v) to see the final report.
        STL functionality check failed! Cannot build Qt with this STL library.
        Turn on verbose messaging (-v) to /home/ubuntu/qt5/qtbase/configure to see the final report.
        *** qtbase/configure exited with non-zero status.

        and i am referring this link for building
        http://qt-project.org/wiki/Qt5ForAndroidBuilding

        Please help

        -Anshul

        1 Reply Last reply
        0
        • P Offline
          P Offline
          PauloPina
          wrote on 7 Apr 2013, 18:33 last edited by
          #120

          Hello,

          I am having some problems compiling Qt 5.1 in MAC OSX. I've followed all the steps from here: http://qt-project.org/wiki/Building_Qt_5_from_Git ...

          But... when I called "make -j 4", after about one hour of compilling work, I've got this error:

          @make[3]: *** No rule to make target /Users/paulopina/PlexusDynamics/qt5/qtbase/lib/libQt5QmlDevTools.a', needed by /Users/paulopina/PlexusDynamics/qt5/qtbase/bin/qmlmin'. Stop.
          make[2]: *** [sub-qmlmin-make_first] Error 2
          make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
          make[3]: Nothing to be done for first'. make[3]: Nothing to be done for first'.
          make[3]: Nothing to be done for `first'.
          make[1]: *** [sub-tools-make_first] Error 2
          make: *** [module-qtdeclarative-make_first] Error 2@

          This it the return i've got at "./configure -developer-build -opensource -nomake examples -nomake tests":

          @Creating qmake...
          make: Nothing to be done for `first'.
          Running configuration tests...
          WARNING: Unable to find file .device.vars

          Build type: macx-clang
          Architecture: x86_64, features: mmx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3
          Host architecture: x86_64, features: mmx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3

          Build .................. libs tools
          Configuration .......... qpa largefile precompile_header sse2 sse3 ssse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 avx avx2 absolute_library_soname pcre warnings_are_errors minimal-config small-config medium-config large-config full-config build_all debug_and_release no-pkg-config coreservices accessibility opengl shared qpa reduce_exports getaddrinfo ipv6ifname getifaddrs png freetype system-zlib nis cups iconv openssl rpath corewlan concurrent audio-backend v8 v8snapshot release debug qt_framework private_tests
          Debug .................. yes (combined)
          Default Link ........... debug
          Force debug info ....... no
          C++11 support .......... no
          pkg-config ............. no
          Qt D-Bus module ........ no
          Qt Concurrent code ..... yes
          Qt GUI module .......... yes
          Qt Widgets module ...... yes
          JavaScriptCore JIT ..... To be decided by JavaScriptCore
          QML debugging .......... yes
          PCH support ............ yes
          SSE2/SSE3/SSSE3......... yes/yes/yes
          SSE4.1/SSE4.2........... yes/yes/yes
          AVX/AVX2................ yes/yes
          IPv6 ifname support .... yes
          getaddrinfo support .... yes
          getifaddrs support ..... yes
          Accessibility .......... yes
          NIS support ............ yes
          CUPS support ........... yes
          Iconv support .......... yes
          Glib support ........... no
          GStreamer support ...... no
          PulseAudio support ..... no
          Large File support ..... yes
          GIF support ............ plugin
          JPEG support ........... plugin (qt)
          PNG support ............ yes (qt)
          zlib support ........... system
          Session management ..... auto
          libudev support ........ no
          Use system proxies ..... no
          OpenGL support ......... yes (Desktop OpenGL)
          OpenVG support ......... no
          XShape support ......... auto
          XVideo support ......... auto
          XSync support .......... auto
          Xinerama support ....... runtime
          Xcursor support ........ runtime
          Xfixes support ......... runtime
          Xrandr support ......... runtime
          Xi support ............. runtime
          Xi2 support ............ auto
          MIT-SHM support ........ auto
          FontConfig support ..... no
          XKB support ............ auto
          GTK theme support ...... no
          PostgreSQL support ..... plugin
          ODBC support ........... plugin
          SQLite support ......... plugin (qt)
          OpenSSL support ........ yes (run-time)
          Alsa support ........... no
          CoreWlan support ....... yes
          libICU support ......... no
          PCRE support ........... qt
          Xcb support ............ no
          Xrender support ........ no
          EGLFS support .......... no
          DirectFB support ....... no
          LinuxFB support ........ no
          KMS support ............ no@

          Any one has an idea of how can I solve this?

          Thank you!

          1 Reply Last reply
          0
          • D Offline
            D Offline
            deus
            wrote on 9 Apr 2013, 13:30 last edited by
            #121

            [quote author="PauloPina" date="1365359586"]Hello,

            Thank you![/quote]

            Just head into "qtdeclarative\src\qmldevtools"
            and make a release and a debug before you proceed.

            1 Reply Last reply
            0
            • P Offline
              P Offline
              PauloPina
              wrote on 11 Apr 2013, 00:18 last edited by
              #122

              [quote author="deus" date="1365514226"]
              [quote author="PauloPina" date="1365359586"]Hello,

              Thank you![/quote]

              Just head into "qtdeclarative\src\qmldevtools"
              and make a release and a debug before you proceed.

              [/quote]

              Hello Deus,

              Thank you. I'll try it!

              1 Reply Last reply
              0
              • D Offline
                D Offline
                DerekDomino
                wrote on 16 Apr 2013, 16:22 last edited by
                #123

                Hi,

                Same error as PauloPina, then heading to "qtdeclarative\src\qmldevtools" and doing a "make" doesn't solve the problem. The make "has nothing to do". Only the debug lib is created, how do I create the release?

                Thanks

                1 Reply Last reply
                0
                • D Offline
                  D Offline
                  deus
                  wrote on 16 Apr 2013, 19:30 last edited by
                  #124

                  make release

                  1 Reply Last reply
                  0
                  • D Offline
                    D Offline
                    DerekDomino
                    wrote on 17 Apr 2013, 13:24 last edited by
                    #125

                    Yes, of course I've tried it ;-) but unsuccessfully

                    @
                    $ pwd
                    (...)/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.1.0-alpha/qtdeclarative/src/qmldevtools

                    $ ls
                    Makefile qmldevtools.pro

                    $ make release
                    make: *** No rule to make target `release'. Stop.
                    @

                    There's no reference to a 'release' keyword in the Makefile. Here's how the whole qtbase was configured:
                    @
                    $ ./configure -prefix $PWD/qtbase -opensource -nomake tests
                    @

                    I've reconfigured with -debug-and-release option, but still no release rule and other errors raised.

                    @
                    $ ./configure -prefix $PWD/qtbase -opensource -nomake tests -debug-and-release
                    (...)

                    $ make
                    cd qmlmin/ && ( test -e Makefile || (...)/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.1.0-alpha/qtbase/bin/qmake (...)/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.1.0-alpha/qtdeclarative/tools/qmlmin/qmlmin.pro -o Makefile ) && make -f Makefile
                    make[3]: *** No rule to make target (...)/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.1.0-alpha/qtbase/lib/libQt5QmlDevTools.a', needed by (...)/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.1.0-alpha/qtbase/bin/qmlmin'. Stop.
                    make[2]: *** [sub-qmlmin-make_first] Error 2
                    make[1]: *** [sub-tools-make_first] Error 2
                    make: *** [module-qtdeclarative-make_first] Error 2
                    @

                    Note: Mac OS X 10.7.5
                    @
                    $ clang -v
                    Apple LLVM version 4.2 (clang-425.0.28) (based on LLVM 3.2svn)
                    Target: x86_64-apple-darwin11.4.2
                    Thread model: posix
                    @

                    1 Reply Last reply
                    0
                    • R Offline
                      R Offline
                      ravirdv
                      wrote on 17 Apr 2013, 18:34 last edited by
                      #126

                      I faced same problem,

                      check out this bug https://bugreports.qt-project.org/browse/QTBUG-30561

                      applying this patch resolved the issue https://codereview.qt-project.org/#patch,sidebyside,52170,1,mkspecs/features/qt_module.prf

                      1 Reply Last reply
                      0
                      • K Offline
                        K Offline
                        kdk85
                        wrote on 5 May 2013, 05:21 last edited by
                        #127

                        Hi,

                        Can the owner of this documentation pls update the steps for running the 'configure' script on Win7+MinGW/MSys.

                        The correct command as pointed by 'JKSH' user is
                        $configure.bat -developer-build -opensource -nomake examples -nomake tests -opengl desktop

                        Links:
                        http://qt-project.org/forums/viewthread/27435/
                        http://qt-project.org/forums/viewthread/22257

                        Thanks

                        1 Reply Last reply
                        0
                        • M Offline
                          M Offline
                          Munawwar
                          wrote on 18 May 2013, 21:13 last edited by
                          #128

                          I think the wiki should mention that the build needs at least 3 GB of RAM to build WebKit.

                          1 Reply Last reply
                          0
                          • sierdzioS Offline
                            sierdzioS Offline
                            sierdzio
                            Moderators
                            wrote on 18 May 2013, 21:48 last edited by
                            #129

                            You can edit it any time.

                            (Z(:^

                            1 Reply Last reply
                            0
                            • M Offline
                              M Offline
                              Munawwar
                              wrote on 19 May 2013, 18:12 last edited by
                              #130

                              I was getting a "runtime/CodeCache.cpp
                              The bug is not reproducible, so it is likely a hardware or OS problem."
                              error when using make -j 4.
                              I had to do a make without specifying '-j 4' (which "I think is serial execution":http://www.gnu.org/software/make/manual/html_node/Parallel.html) for the build to work.

                              1 Reply Last reply
                              0
                              • sierdzioS Offline
                                sierdzioS Offline
                                sierdzio
                                Moderators
                                wrote on 19 May 2013, 18:16 last edited by
                                #131

                                Uncanny.

                                I'm routinely compiling various Qt versions, from 4.8 to 5.1, with make -j9 and never had an issue. Well, once :)

                                Maybe your "make" is outdated?

                                (Z(:^

                                1 Reply Last reply
                                0
                                • JKSHJ Offline
                                  JKSHJ Offline
                                  JKSH
                                  Moderators
                                  wrote on 20 May 2013, 00:08 last edited by
                                  #132

                                  [quote author="Munawwar" date="1368987136"]I was getting a "runtime/CodeCache.cpp
                                  The bug is not reproducible, so it is likely a hardware or OS problem."
                                  error when using make -j 4.
                                  I had to do a make without specifying '-j 4' (which "I think is serial execution":http://www.gnu.org/software/make/manual/html_node/Parallel.html) for the build to work.[/quote]What CPU, and how much RAM, do you have?

                                  Qt Doc Search for browsers: forum.qt.io/topic/35616/web-browser-extension-for-improved-doc-searches

                                  1 Reply Last reply
                                  0
                                  • A Offline
                                    A Offline
                                    allenck
                                    wrote on 23 May 2013, 21:45 last edited by
                                    #133

                                    I'm having problems getting Qt 5.1 to compile:

                                    In file included from ../../include/QtWidgets/qgraphicsscene.h:1:0,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsview.h:48,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsview_p.h:56,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/qgraphicsview_p.h:1,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsitem_p.h:59,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicswidget_p.h:57,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/qgraphicswidget_p.h:1,
                                    from kernel/qaction_p.h:58,
                                    from kernel/qactiongroup.cpp:46:
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsscene.h:160:24: error: missing binary operator before token "("
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsscene.h:167:24: error: missing binary operator before token "("
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsscene.h:174:24: error: missing binary operator before token "("
                                    In file included from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsitem_p.h:56:0,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicswidget_p.h:57,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/qgraphicswidget_p.h:1,
                                    from kernel/qaction_p.h:58,
                                    from kernel/qaction.cpp:46:
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsitem.h:176:24: error: missing binary operator before token "("
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsitem.h:240:24: error: missing binary operator before token "("
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsitem.h:298:24: error: missing binary operator before token "("
                                    In file included from ../../include/QtWidgets/qgraphicsscene.h:1:0,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsview.h:48,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsview_p.h:56,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/qgraphicsview_p.h:1,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsitem_p.h:59,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/../../../../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicswidget_p.h:57,
                                    from ../../include/QtWidgets/5.1.0/QtWidgets/private/qgraphicswidget_p.h:1,
                                    from kernel/qaction_p.h:58,
                                    from kernel/qaction.cpp:46:
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsscene.h:160:24: error: missing binary operator before token "("
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsscene.h:167:24: error: missing binary operator before token "("
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/../../src/widgets/graphicsview/qgraphicsscene.h:174:24: error: missing binary operator before token "("
                                    In file included from kernel/qactiongroup.cpp:382:0:
                                    .moc/release-shared/moc_qactiongroup.cpp:15:2: error: #error "This file was generated using the moc from 5.1.0. It"
                                    .moc/release-shared/moc_qactiongroup.cpp:16:2: error: #error "cannot be used with the include files from this version of Qt."
                                    .moc/release-shared/moc_qactiongroup.cpp:17:2: error: #error "(The moc has changed too much.)"
                                    In file included from ../../include/QtWidgets/qaction.h:1:0,
                                    from kernel/qactiongroup.h:45,
                                    from kernel/qactiongroup.cpp:42:
                                    ../../include/QtWidgets/../../src/widgets/kernel/qaction.h:61:32: error: expected initializer before ‘:’ token
                                    In file included from kernel/qaction.cpp:1313:0:
                                    .moc/release-shared/moc_qaction.cpp:15:2: error: #error "This file was generated using the moc from 5.1.0. It"
                                    .moc/release-shared/moc_qaction.cpp:16:2: error: #error "cannot be used with the include files from this version of Qt."
                                    .moc/release-shared/moc_qaction.cpp:17:2: error: #error "(The moc has changed too much.)"
                                    In file included from kernel/qaction.cpp:42:0:
                                    kernel/qaction.h:61:32: error: expected initializer before ‘:’ token
                                    make[3]: *** [.obj/release-shared/qactiongroup.o] Error 1
                                    make[3]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
                                    make[3]: *** [.obj/release-shared/qaction.o] Error 1
                                    make[3]: Leaving directory /media/usb_700_ext4/qt5/qtbase/src/widgets' make[2]: *** [sub-widgets-make_first] Error 2 make[2]: Leaving directory /media/usb_700_ext4/qt5/qtbase/src'
                                    make[1]: *** [sub-src-make_first] Error 2
                                    make[1]: Leaving directory `/media/usb_700_ext4/qt5/qtbase'
                                    make: *** [module-qtbase-make_first] Error 2
                                    allen@ubuntu:/media/usb_700_ext4/qt5$

                                    Can anybody explain why?

                                    Allen Kempe

                                    1 Reply Last reply
                                    0
                                    • JKSHJ Offline
                                      JKSHJ Offline
                                      JKSH
                                      Moderators
                                      wrote on 24 May 2013, 00:57 last edited by
                                      #134

                                      [quote author="allenck" date="1369345509"].moc/release-shared/moc_qactiongroup.cpp:15:2: error: #error “This file was generated using the moc from 5.1.0. It”
                                      .moc/release-shared/moc_qactiongroup.cpp:16:2: error: #error “cannot be used with the include files from this version of Qt.”[/quote]It looks like you have multiple versions of Qt in your environment. Remove the older one from your PATH, clean your build tree (i.e. delete all the files that have been compiled so far), and try again.

                                      Also, what compiler are you using? How did you configure + build Qt?

                                      Qt Doc Search for browsers: forum.qt.io/topic/35616/web-browser-extension-for-improved-doc-searches

                                      1 Reply Last reply
                                      0
                                      • A Offline
                                        A Offline
                                        allenck
                                        wrote on 24 May 2013, 03:43 last edited by
                                        #135

                                        Thanks. I checked the requirements as it pertained to environment variables but didn't check the path. Undoubtedly that is the reason as the compile seems to be working OK, so far, on another machine.

                                        The compiler is g++ and I was using these configuration settings:
                                        ./configure -prefix $PWD/qtbase -opensource -nomake tests -system-sqlite -plugin-sql-sqlite -plugin-sql-odbc -plugin-sql-mysql -nomake demo -nomake examples

                                        Allen Kempe

                                        1 Reply Last reply
                                        0
                                        • C Offline
                                          C Offline
                                          cmeyer
                                          wrote on 5 Aug 2013, 18:25 last edited by
                                          #136

                                          I am building from source on Windows with VS2012.

                                          I update the sources from git using the command:

                                          qtrepotools\bin\qt5_tool -p --Branch stable

                                          The problem occurs because the headers in qtbase\include don't get updated when I 'nmake' and those include files are in the include path for each of the subdirectories.

                                          Any idea what I need to do to get the sources to build after updating?

                                          If I make clean, run configure again, and nmake everything works. But it would be better if I didn't have to take those steps every time.

                                          1 Reply Last reply
                                          0

                                          • Login

                                          • Login or register to search.
                                          • First post
                                            Last post
                                          0
                                          • Categories
                                          • Recent
                                          • Tags
                                          • Popular
                                          • Users
                                          • Groups
                                          • Search
                                          • Get Qt Extensions
                                          • Unsolved