Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. Qt Development
  3. QML and Qt Quick
  4. How do I change imagesize to fit on other screens and preserve aspect ratio

How do I change imagesize to fit on other screens and preserve aspect ratio

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved QML and Qt Quick
qmlchange sizeresolutionquick
20 Posts 2 Posters 13.3k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • A antemort
    15 Jun 2015, 11:31

    but if i want it to have like 1540 540 aspect ratio and I want to preserve it when changing resolution. Correct me if I'm wrong ( I probebly am) but doesn't screen.width make the images stretch to fit the screen and if for exampel screen size is like ipad 1024 x 768 it will not stay at the same aspect ratio as 1540: 540.

    P Offline
    P Offline
    p3c0
    Moderators
    wrote on 15 Jun 2015, 11:33 last edited by
    #4

    @antemort Well in that case for Image element there is fillMode property.

    157

    A 1 Reply Last reply 15 Jun 2015, 11:49
    0
    • P p3c0
      15 Jun 2015, 11:33

      @antemort Well in that case for Image element there is fillMode property.

      A Offline
      A Offline
      antemort
      wrote on 15 Jun 2015, 11:49 last edited by
      #5

      @p3c0 I have tried with fillMode: Image.PreserveAspectFit on my images but they do not resize when I resize the window. Am I using it wrong? Now when I use Screen.width it only make the white space bigger around the image.

      what am I doing wrong?

      P 1 Reply Last reply 15 Jun 2015, 11:52
      0
      • A antemort
        15 Jun 2015, 11:49

        @p3c0 I have tried with fillMode: Image.PreserveAspectFit on my images but they do not resize when I resize the window. Am I using it wrong? Now when I use Screen.width it only make the white space bigger around the image.

        what am I doing wrong?

        P Offline
        P Offline
        p3c0
        Moderators
        wrote on 15 Jun 2015, 11:52 last edited by
        #6

        @antemort May be it is due to fixed x and y properties for Image that you have set. Instead try using anchors.

        157

        1 Reply Last reply
        0
        • A Offline
          A Offline
          antemort
          wrote on 22 Jun 2015, 10:23 last edited by
          #7

          Now I have worked with layouts and resized all images to same ratio 1440 x 540 except 2 images. Those two images are speedgauge pins and need to be positioning in the middle of the gauges. What I want now is that those pins should change position and size when resizing the window that are set in full screen. So if image window is resized then these two images should also resize and find their way to the center of the gauge again.

          can you help me?

          P 1 Reply Last reply 22 Jun 2015, 10:52
          0
          • A antemort
            22 Jun 2015, 10:23

            Now I have worked with layouts and resized all images to same ratio 1440 x 540 except 2 images. Those two images are speedgauge pins and need to be positioning in the middle of the gauges. What I want now is that those pins should change position and size when resizing the window that are set in full screen. So if image window is resized then these two images should also resize and find their way to the center of the gauge again.

            can you help me?

            P Offline
            P Offline
            p3c0
            Moderators
            wrote on 22 Jun 2015, 10:52 last edited by
            #8

            @antemort If I understood you correctly then you just need to use anchors.centerIn and anchor it to its parent so that it centers even if you resize the parent window. To resize it according to parent you can bind it to parents dimensions. See the following example

            import QtQuick 2.4
            
            Item {
                width: 200
                height: 200
            
                Image {
                    anchors.centerIn: parent
                    width: parent.width / 2.0 // can be anything as per your requirements
                    height: parent.height / 2.0
                    source: "https://placeholdit.imgix.net/~text?txtsize=50&txt=Qt&w=100&h=100"
                }
            }
            

            Try using your image as the source.

            157

            1 Reply Last reply
            0
            • A Offline
              A Offline
              antemort
              wrote on 22 Jun 2015, 12:59 last edited by
              #9

              I'm sorry, I must have explained it badly. I have two gauges on different sides off a symmetry line so those are not alligned in the center off the picture. The two pins are positioning with x and y values to be positioning in the center of the gauge circles. the pins are small images which have the orgin at the right side of the image facing the middle of the gaugecircle. So when the screen getting bigger or smaller i want width and height and the x and y values to be changed so it follows the other images that have anchors.fill: parent.

              P 1 Reply Last reply 23 Jun 2015, 06:16
              0
              • A antemort
                22 Jun 2015, 12:59

                I'm sorry, I must have explained it badly. I have two gauges on different sides off a symmetry line so those are not alligned in the center off the picture. The two pins are positioning with x and y values to be positioning in the center of the gauge circles. the pins are small images which have the orgin at the right side of the image facing the middle of the gaugecircle. So when the screen getting bigger or smaller i want width and height and the x and y values to be changed so it follows the other images that have anchors.fill: parent.

                P Offline
                P Offline
                p3c0
                Moderators
                wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 06:16 last edited by
                #10

                @antemort Have you anchored the pin to the gauge circles or you have explicitly set x and y positions ?

                157

                1 Reply Last reply
                0
                • A Offline
                  A Offline
                  antemort
                  wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 06:51 last edited by antemort
                  #11

                  I have explicity set x and y for the moment. I want to anchor but doesn't know how when the the pins are not position in the center of the image, only positioning so it is in the center of the circles.

                  Image {
                      id: visare
                      source: "images/visare_2_skugga.png"
                      x: 113
                      y: 271
                      width: 210
                      height: 13
                      transformOrigin: Item.Right
                      opacity: 1
                      rotation: needleAngle
                      smooth: true
                      
                      
                      Behavior on rotation{
                          SpringAnimation{
                              spring: 0.5;
                              damping: 0.2;
                              mass:2;
                              
                              
                              
                          }
                      }
                      
                      
                  }
                  
                  Image {
                      id: visare_rpm
                      source: "images/visare_2_skugga.png"
                      x: 912
                      y: 270
                      width: 210
                      height: 13
                      transformOrigin: Item.Right
                      opacity: 1
                      rotation: needleRpm
                      smooth: true
                      
                      Behavior on rotation{
                          SpringAnimation{
                              spring: 0.5;
                              damping: 0.2;
                              mass:2;
                              
                              
                              
                          }
                      }
                      
                      
                  }
                  
                  P 1 Reply Last reply 23 Jun 2015, 06:57
                  0
                  • A antemort
                    23 Jun 2015, 06:51

                    I have explicity set x and y for the moment. I want to anchor but doesn't know how when the the pins are not position in the center of the image, only positioning so it is in the center of the circles.

                    Image {
                        id: visare
                        source: "images/visare_2_skugga.png"
                        x: 113
                        y: 271
                        width: 210
                        height: 13
                        transformOrigin: Item.Right
                        opacity: 1
                        rotation: needleAngle
                        smooth: true
                        
                        
                        Behavior on rotation{
                            SpringAnimation{
                                spring: 0.5;
                                damping: 0.2;
                                mass:2;
                                
                                
                                
                            }
                        }
                        
                        
                    }
                    
                    Image {
                        id: visare_rpm
                        source: "images/visare_2_skugga.png"
                        x: 912
                        y: 270
                        width: 210
                        height: 13
                        transformOrigin: Item.Right
                        opacity: 1
                        rotation: needleRpm
                        smooth: true
                        
                        Behavior on rotation{
                            SpringAnimation{
                                spring: 0.5;
                                damping: 0.2;
                                mass:2;
                                
                                
                                
                            }
                        }
                        
                        
                    }
                    
                    P Offline
                    P Offline
                    p3c0
                    Moderators
                    wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 06:57 last edited by
                    #12

                    @antemort So why don't you use anchors.centerIn: parent and align it to center according to the gauge ? Here parent being the gauge.

                    157

                    1 Reply Last reply
                    0
                    • A Offline
                      A Offline
                      antemort
                      wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 07:09 last edited by
                      #13

                      because the gauge circle have the measure 1440x540 like the rest of the images there are two cirles in one circle. If i use anchors.centerIn it will end up in the center of the image in between those circles.

                      P 1 Reply Last reply 23 Jun 2015, 07:15
                      0
                      • A antemort
                        23 Jun 2015, 07:09

                        because the gauge circle have the measure 1440x540 like the rest of the images there are two cirles in one circle. If i use anchors.centerIn it will end up in the center of the image in between those circles.

                        P Offline
                        P Offline
                        p3c0
                        Moderators
                        wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 07:15 last edited by p3c0
                        #14

                        @antemort Wow this is way too different than what I understood earlier.
                        You have a large image and it has some circles at some positions and you want that pins to be centered to that circles. Is it ? And for that you have hard-coded the pin's x and y positions by trial and error method (i.e manually). If thats the case then I think you should change the implementation. It would be too difficult to maintain that position when the image resizes.
                        Can you describe/explain it pictographically ?

                        157

                        1 Reply Last reply
                        0
                        • A Offline
                          A Offline
                          antemort
                          wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 07:17 last edited by
                          #15

                          two circles in one image*

                          P 1 Reply Last reply 23 Jun 2015, 07:20
                          0
                          • A antemort
                            23 Jun 2015, 07:17

                            two circles in one image*

                            P Offline
                            P Offline
                            p3c0
                            Moderators
                            wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 07:20 last edited by
                            #16

                            @antemort A small pictorial representation would be helpful.

                            157

                            1 Reply Last reply
                            0
                            • A Offline
                              A Offline
                              antemort
                              wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 07:26 last edited by
                              #17

                              http://postimg.org/image/62lrab1jt/

                              here it is. Print screen from Qt designer with pins in right position

                              P 1 Reply Last reply 23 Jun 2015, 07:42
                              0
                              • A antemort
                                23 Jun 2015, 07:26

                                http://postimg.org/image/62lrab1jt/

                                here it is. Print screen from Qt designer with pins in right position

                                P Offline
                                P Offline
                                p3c0
                                Moderators
                                wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 07:42 last edited by
                                #18

                                @antemort Hmm this is what I guessed and was afraid of. I thinks it a bad idea to go for this way of implementation. Instead you should divide it into seperate images. One being that speedometer image while other being the background. Then you can just use Image element to load that speedometer image and you will thus will able to place it anywhere. Now, the pins can be made child of speedometer Image element and can be centered to that of the speedometer (parent) using anchors.centerIn.
                                In this way it will be independent of any resolution changes.

                                157

                                1 Reply Last reply
                                0
                                • A Offline
                                  A Offline
                                  antemort
                                  wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 08:07 last edited by
                                  #19

                                  I had it before but then I needed to position all images and then I couldn't anchor them. when I don't anchor them they doesn't scale or follow the window when it scales.

                                  P 1 Reply Last reply 23 Jun 2015, 08:38
                                  0
                                  • A antemort
                                    23 Jun 2015, 08:07

                                    I had it before but then I needed to position all images and then I couldn't anchor them. when I don't anchor them they doesn't scale or follow the window when it scales.

                                    P Offline
                                    P Offline
                                    p3c0
                                    Moderators
                                    wrote on 23 Jun 2015, 08:38 last edited by
                                    #20

                                    @antemort You can put the 2 gauge images besides eachother inside a RowLayout and add it to the Image element which contains that background image. Advantage of layouts is that it automatically positions the items inside it when it resizes.

                                    157

                                    1 Reply Last reply
                                    0

                                    13/20

                                    23 Jun 2015, 07:09

                                    • Login

                                    • Login or register to search.
                                    13 out of 20
                                    • First post
                                      13/20
                                      Last post
                                    0
                                    • Categories
                                    • Recent
                                    • Tags
                                    • Popular
                                    • Users
                                    • Groups
                                    • Search
                                    • Get Qt Extensions
                                    • Unsolved