Skip to content
  • Categories
  • Recent
  • Tags
  • Popular
  • Users
  • Groups
  • Search
  • Get Qt Extensions
  • Unsolved
Collapse
Brand Logo
  1. Home
  2. International
  3. India
  4. Error in compiling QT-5.0 on ubuntu linux
QtWS25 Last Chance

Error in compiling QT-5.0 on ubuntu linux

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved India
27 Posts 3 Posters 18.9k Views
  • Oldest to Newest
  • Newest to Oldest
  • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • M Offline
    M Offline
    manish.jamwal
    wrote on last edited by
    #1

    Hi Team

    I am new to QT and Forum. Error is coming, while compiling QT-5.0 on ubuntu linux os. Error is mentioned below, please provide any pointer, how to fix it. The commands I executed are:

    $./configure -developer-build -opensource
    $make

    ../../../include/QtGui/../../src/gui/painting/qpainter.h:127:14: note: QPainter::QPainter(QPaintDevice*)
    ../../../include/QtGui/../../src/gui/painting/qpainter.h:127:14: note: no known conversion for argument 1 from ‘QOpenGLPaintDevice*’ to ‘QPaintDevice*’
    ../../../include/QtGui/../../src/gui/painting/qpainter.h:126:5: note: QPainter::QPainter()
    ../../../include/QtGui/../../src/gui/painting/qpainter.h:126:5: note: candidate expects 0 arguments, 1 provided
    openglwindow.cpp: In member function ‘void OpenGLWindow::renderNow()’:
    openglwindow.cpp:137:44: error: invalid use of incomplete type ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    ../../../include/QtGui/../../src/gui/kernel/qsurfaceformat.h:51:7: error: forward declaration of ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    openglwindow.cpp:138:18: error: invalid use of incomplete type ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    ../../../include/QtGui/../../src/gui/kernel/qsurfaceformat.h:51:7: error: forward declaration of ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    openglwindow.cpp:139:18: error: invalid use of incomplete type ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    ../../../include/QtGui/../../src/gui/kernel/qsurfaceformat.h:51:7: error: forward declaration of ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    openglwindow.cpp:144:14: error: invalid use of incomplete type ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    ../../../include/QtGui/../../src/gui/kernel/qsurfaceformat.h:51:7: error: forward declaration of ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    openglwindow.cpp:147:35: error: ‘initializeOpenGLFunctions’ was not declared in this scope
    openglwindow.cpp:153:14: error: invalid use of incomplete type ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    ../../../include/QtGui/../../src/gui/kernel/qsurfaceformat.h:51:7: error: forward declaration of ‘struct QOpenGLContext’
    make[4]: *** [.obj/debug-shared/openglwindow.o] Error 1
    make[4]: Leaving directory /home/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0/qtbase/examples/gui/openglwindow' make[3]: *** [sub-openglwindow-make_first] Error 2 make[3]: Leaving directory /home/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0/qtbase/examples/gui'
    make[2]: *** [sub-gui-make_first] Error 2
    make[2]: Leaving directory /home/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0/qtbase/examples' make[1]: *** [sub-examples-make_first] Error 2 make[1]: Leaving directory /home/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0/qtbase'
    make: *** [module-qtbase-make_first] Error 2

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
    • sierdzioS Offline
      sierdzioS Offline
      sierdzio
      Moderators
      wrote on last edited by
      #2

      Please refer to this "tutorial":http://qt-project.org/wiki/Building_Qt_5_from_Git. You need to install dependencies before compiling.

      Where did you take the code from (git, SDK, tarball, zip archive)?

      (Z(:^

      1 Reply Last reply
      0
      • M Offline
        M Offline
        manish.jamwal
        wrote on last edited by
        #3

        Thanks for quick reply.
        I have taken the tarball - qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0.tar.gz

        1 Reply Last reply
        0
        • M Offline
          M Offline
          manish.jamwal
          wrote on last edited by
          #4

          Hi

          Previously I compiled with configure option:
          $./configure -developer-build -opensource -- Error are mentioned in previous mail

          But as refered in the document, I compiled with the configure option:
          $ ./configure -developer-build -opensource -nomake examples -nomake tests

          Now the error, which are coming is mentioned below. Please provide some pointer, I am not getting, which dependency is missing

          /home/GMax/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.0.0/qtbase/include/QtQuick/5.0.0/QtQuick/private/../../../../../../qtdeclarative/src/quick/scenegraph/qsgcontext_p.h:97:57: error: ‘GLuint’ has not been declared
          In file included from scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer_p.h:45:0,
          from scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:45:
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgrenderer_p.h:70:1: error: expected class-name before ‘{’ token
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgrenderer_p.h:174:5: error: ‘QOpenGLShaderProgram’ does not name a type
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgrenderer_p.h:210:28: error: field ‘GLuint’ has incomplete type
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgrenderer_p.h:213:5: error: ‘GLuint’ does not name a type
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp: In member function ‘virtual void QSGDefaultRenderer::render()’:
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:175:17: error: ‘GL_ONE’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:175:25: error: ‘GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:175:47: error: ‘glBlendFunc’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:176:15: error: ‘GL_BLEND’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:176:23: error: ‘glDisable’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:178:32: error: ‘GL_CW’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:178:40: error: ‘GL_CCW’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:178:46: error: ‘glFrontFace’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:179:15: error: ‘GL_CULL_FACE’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:181:14: error: ‘GL_DEPTH_TEST’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:181:27: error: ‘glEnable’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:182:21: error: ‘glDepthMask’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:183:17: error: ‘GL_LESS’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:183:24: error: ‘glDepthFunc’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:187:19: error: ‘glClearDepth’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:190:15: error: ‘GL_SCISSOR_TEST’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:191:109: error: ‘glClearColor’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:204:80: error: ‘glViewport’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp:209:15: error: ‘GL_STENCIL_TEST’ was not declared in this scope
          scenegraph/coreapi/qsgdefaultrenderer.cpp: In member function ‘void QSGDefaultRenderer::renderNodes(QSGNode* const*, int)’:

          1 Reply Last reply
          0
          • sierdzioS Offline
            sierdzioS Offline
            sierdzio
            Moderators
            wrote on last edited by
            #5

            Most likely OpenGL. Install Mesa or proprietary nVidia/ATI driver.

            (Z(:^

            1 Reply Last reply
            0
            • S Offline
              S Offline
              santhosh
              wrote on last edited by
              #6

              hii I got a problem in installing qt5 in linux...
              Can any one help me..

              1 Reply Last reply
              0
              • sierdzioS Offline
                sierdzioS Offline
                sierdzio
                Moderators
                wrote on last edited by
                #7

                [quote author="santhosh" date="1357540123"]hii I got a problem in installing qt5 in linux...
                Can any one help me..[/quote]

                You need to tell us much more than that + it would be nice if you didn't hijack someone's else topic. What errors do you get, which distro are you using, which Qt5 package are you attempting to install/ compile, etc.

                (Z(:^

                1 Reply Last reply
                0
                • S Offline
                  S Offline
                  santhosh
                  wrote on last edited by
                  #8

                  im using latest version i.e qt5....
                  in which I got some errors while installing it.

                  Iam new to QT so I need to develop a project using QT. And one more
                  thing is that I need to do it in LINUX platform .Iam totally confused
                  of where to write the code, where to execute the code wether in
                  terminal or in QT itself.
                  And I have one more doubt when we open a new window it shows different
                  options like c++ project,main source prog etc.... My doubt is that
                  wether the source code is enough or we need to add the c++ main source
                  code present in the options window.
                  Please help me......
                  I dont have any source

                  1 Reply Last reply
                  0
                  • sierdzioS Offline
                    sierdzioS Offline
                    sierdzio
                    Moderators
                    wrote on last edited by
                    #9

                    [quote author="santhosh" date="1357636361"]in which I got some errors while installing it.[/quote]

                    How else can I phrase my request for you to understand that some errors is not enough? When you say that, I simply have no idea what went wrong on your side... so I can't help, even though I do want to.

                    [quote]Iam totally confused
                    of where to write the code, where to execute the code wether in
                    terminal or in QT itself.[/quote]

                    Yeah, that can happen in the beginning. First, you need to differentiate between Qt libraries (a set of headers, libs, code generators and tools that makes c++ cool, shiny and awesome) and Qt Creator (an IDE that makes creating Qt applications easy). For a beginner (and for most experts, too), it's probably best to start by installing Qt libs, then Qt Creator, and writing code in QtC. It's really splendid tool, I personally find it to be the best IDE ever ;)

                    You can write code in any text editor, and run it from terminal if you wish, though. I just would not recommend it if you are a newbie - might be a bit too hard at first.

                    [quote]And I have one more doubt when we open a new window it shows different
                    options like c++ project,main source prog etc…. My doubt is that
                    wether the source code is enough or we need to add the c++ main source
                    code present in the options window.[/quote]

                    Although Qt makes c++ development easier, and allows to skip some parts of the language, main() function is still needed. Without it the compiler/ linker will not know how to put the thing together, and where it should be run.

                    Hope this helps a bit. Ask more if you need to, but please make your questions specific.

                    (Z(:^

                    1 Reply Last reply
                    0
                    • S Offline
                      S Offline
                      santhosh
                      wrote on last edited by
                      #10

                      hii everybody I'm trying to install qt in linux operating system.It is showing an error
                      ""floating point error""...
                      I have one more doubt in linux by default there is a qt tool in programming tools.
                      can we use that tool,is that tool is same as the qt tool...
                      i have tried with that tool it is showing an error that "" unable to execute qmake file''

                      1 Reply Last reply
                      0
                      • S Offline
                        S Offline
                        santhosh
                        wrote on last edited by
                        #11

                        Can u provide me the complete installation steps for installing qt in linux-redhat 5.5 version

                        1 Reply Last reply
                        0
                        • S Offline
                          S Offline
                          santhosh
                          wrote on last edited by
                          #12

                          hi im trying to install qt4.8.4 version in linux(redhat5.5) os.
                          firstly i opened terminal,moved to the location of the qt folder.
                          then i entered ./configure command .
                          It has done with its configuration.
                          Then i enterd gmake command it took several hours to comlete..
                          after that i entered gmake install command.
                          i got error like this
                          """user@localhost qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.8.4]$ gmake installcd src/tools/bootstrap/ && gmake -f Makefile install
                          gmake[1]: Entering directory /home/user/Desktop/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.8.4/src/tools/bootstrap' gmake[1]: Nothing to be done for install'.
                          gmake[1]: Leaving directory /home/user/Desktop/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.8.4/src/tools/bootstrap' cd src/tools/moc/ && gmake -f Makefile install gmake[1]: Entering directory /home/user/Desktop/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.8.4/src/tools/moc'
                          mkdir: cannot create directory /usr/local/Trolltech': Permission denied gmake[1]: *** [install_target] Error 1 gmake[1]: Leaving directory /home/user/Desktop/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.8.4/src/tools/moc'
                          gmake: *** [sub-moc-install_subtargets-ordered] Error 2"""

                          One more thing is that when i tried to install qt-creator it is giving an error like this
                          ""[user@localhost Desktop]$ t-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin
                          bash: t-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin: command not found
                          [user@localhost Desktop]$ chmod u+x qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin
                          [user@localhost Desktop]$ ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin
                          ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version GLIBCXX_3.4.9' not found (required by ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin) ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version GLIBCXX_3.4.11' not found (required by ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin)
                          ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin: /lib/libc.so.6: version GLIBC_2.9' not found (required by ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin) ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin: /lib/libc.so.6: version GLIBC_2.10' not found (required by ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin)
                          ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin: /lib/libc.so.6: version GLIBC_2.11' not found (required by ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin) ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin: /lib/libc.so.6: version GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./qt-creator-linux-x86-opensource-2.6.1.bin)""\

                          so please help me...
                          rectify my problem...

                          1 Reply Last reply
                          0
                          • sierdzioS Offline
                            sierdzioS Offline
                            sierdzio
                            Moderators
                            wrote on last edited by
                            #13

                            Qt installs to root directories, you need to run it with sudo:
                            @
                            sudo make install
                            @

                            As for QtC - either provide that library version, or compile QtC yourself.

                            (Z(:^

                            1 Reply Last reply
                            0
                            • S Offline
                              S Offline
                              santhosh
                              wrote on last edited by
                              #14

                              when i install QT ".run" file in linux it is showing this error

                              ""[user@localhost Desktop]$ ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run
                              ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version GLIBCXX_3.4.9' not found (required by ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run) ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version GLIBCXX_3.4.11' not found (required by ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run)
                              ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version GLIBCXX_3.4.15' not found (required by ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run) ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run: /lib/libc.so.6: version GLIBC_2.9' not found (required by ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run)
                              ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run: /lib/libc.so.6: version GLIBC_2.10' not found (required by ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run) ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run: /lib/libc.so.6: version GLIBC_2.11' not found (required by ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run)
                              ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by ./qt-linux-opensource-5.0.1-x86-offline.run)
                              what is this error???
                              Please rectify my problem

                              1 Reply Last reply
                              0
                              • sierdzioS Offline
                                sierdzioS Offline
                                sierdzio
                                Moderators
                                wrote on last edited by
                                #15

                                Precompiled package is compiled on Ubuntu. There might be library naming clashes. Compile the stuff yourself or symlink the libraries to cheat the package.

                                (Z(:^

                                1 Reply Last reply
                                0
                                • S Offline
                                  S Offline
                                  santhosh
                                  wrote on last edited by
                                  #16

                                  Hi everybody I got some errors while installing qt4.7.0 version in redhat linux 5.5 version...
                                  Firstly i have copied all the files into a folder and moved to that folder using terminal.
                                  Over their I gave a command "./configure"
                                  Then all the configuration files are executed.
                                  Then after I gave "gmake" command
                                  It gave a error like this:
                                  [user@localhost qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0]$ gmake
                                  cd src/tools/bootstrap/ && /home/user/Desktop/qt\ installation/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/bin/qmake /home/user/Desktop/qt installation/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/src/tools/bootstrap/bootstrap.pro -spec ../../../mkspecs/linux-g++ -o Makefile
                                  Cannot find file: /home/user/Desktop/qt.
                                  Cannot find file: installation/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/src/tools/bootstrap/bootstrap.pro.
                                  gmake: *** [src/tools/bootstrap/Makefile] Error 2

                                  When I give ""gmake install "" command
                                  It gave errors like this

                                  [user@localhost qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0]$ gmake install
                                  cd src/tools/bootstrap/ && /home/user/Desktop/qt\ installation/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/bin/qmake /home/user/Desktop/qt installation/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/src/tools/bootstrap/bootstrap.pro -spec ../../../mkspecs/linux-g++ -o Makefile
                                  Cannot find file: /home/user/Desktop/qt.
                                  Cannot find file: installation/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.7.0/src/tools/bootstrap/bootstrap.pro.
                                  gmake: *** [src/tools/bootstrap/Makefile] Error 2

                                  Please rectify my problem as soon as possible...

                                  1 Reply Last reply
                                  0
                                  • sierdzioS Offline
                                    sierdzioS Offline
                                    sierdzio
                                    Moderators
                                    wrote on last edited by
                                    #17

                                    Which package have you downloaded?

                                    (Z(:^

                                    1 Reply Last reply
                                    0
                                    • S Offline
                                      S Offline
                                      santhosh
                                      wrote on last edited by
                                      #18

                                      qt‐everywhere‐opensource‐src‐4.7.0

                                      1 Reply Last reply
                                      0
                                      • sierdzioS Offline
                                        sierdzioS Offline
                                        sierdzio
                                        Moderators
                                        wrote on last edited by
                                        #19

                                        Tarball or zip?

                                        (Z(:^

                                        1 Reply Last reply
                                        0
                                        • S Offline
                                          S Offline
                                          santhosh
                                          wrote on last edited by
                                          #20

                                          actually it was tarball but it was unable to unzip those file in linux so i have unzipped those files in windows and copied back into linux and installed

                                          1 Reply Last reply
                                          0

                                          • Login

                                          • Login or register to search.
                                          • First post
                                            Last post
                                          0
                                          • Categories
                                          • Recent
                                          • Tags
                                          • Popular
                                          • Users
                                          • Groups
                                          • Search
                                          • Get Qt Extensions
                                          • Unsolved